Home Local News Election (page 17)


Gillig likely won spot on Mohawk school board

TIFFIN — If unofficial results hold true, Devin Gillig will join the Mohawk School Board of Education in January. While results of the Nov. 3 race still have not been finalized, write-in candidate Gillig unofficially received 228 votes in that county, compared to 38 for Jennifer Miller, also a write-in candidate, according to an official with the Seneca County Board of Elections.

Candidates elected to seats with no challenger

At least 40 newly elected and re-elected candidates had no opposition in their races for local office, including those in the largest municipality in the county. Among uncontested races, Upper Sandusky Mayor Scott Washburn notched a third four-year term with 1,685 votes, while council members Rick Roberts (1,143 votes), Scot Swinehart (1,237 votes) and Bill Thornton (1,081 votes) also were re-elected to another term each.

Ohioans soundly defeat pot measure

More than 45 percent of registered voters in Wyandot County went to the polls during Tuesday’s general election that included three statewide issues and a plethora of local candidates and issues. A total of 7,029 of the county’s 15,284 registered voters turned out for the election, according to unofficial results provided by the Wyandot County Board of Elections.

Two elected to seats on Nevada Council

Crystal Smith and Greg Palmer won two open seats on Nevada Village Council during Tuesday’s general election, according to unofficial results from the Wyandot County Board of Elections. With four candidates in competition, Smith was the top vote-getter with 98, while Palmer was second with 86.

1...16171819Page 17 of 19


Signup Here
Lost Password